Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Motivation Missing

Well HELLOOOO blog-readers! It's been a few days! I'm sorry, this weekend was epic. I needed time to gather my thoughts (or just recover..lol) !!!

Alright, SUNDAY - T.I.T.S. Boat Cruise! Tall Island Team Ships! Yes, I know it's dirty.. but, it's university. Anyway - $40 for this boat cruise. It left Surfers at 10 a.m. for Stradbroke Island, or "Straddie" Island as the locals call it. It's an hour boat ride from Surfers. There were so many Canadians on this boat, it was amazing.

When you got to the Island there was a live band, free bbq, wild kangaroos & KOMODO DRAGONS, parrots, swings and tons of drink specials.


Jess, Kara & I on the boat!


Kara with Kangaroos... and KOMODOS??? lol


Me, Natalia, Jon & Jess with our "sex on the island" drinks!


Francis & I and our birds.


SCUBA STEVE WE LOVE YOU!

Hello paradise! For extra fees you could go tubing, parasailing, paddle-boating, etc. Jess & I paid extra to go parasailing and it was SO worth it!!! Jess brought her camera up and got some amazing pictures! Here, I'll share a few:





We all started drinking at 8:45 a.m. and didn't stop until about 12 hours later. Seriously. It was probably the best time I've had here so far! (and I've had some pretty awesome times!) I met tons of awesome people.. such a good day! Here's a link to a video of a bunch of us singing on the boat (careful.. I'm loud)

http://www.youtube.com/user/michelleshantz?feature=mhw4#p/a/u/0/SeO8z-JiA2I

Okay, blogger is being dumb. You'll have to copy & paste the link in order to see it. SORRY!!!

Of course, it was back to reality on Monday. School is SO intense! I'm looking forward to the break, but I have a feeling I'm going to just be thinking about all the upcoming assignments. I'm going to try and get some of them done before Jess & I take off on our road trip to Sydney!

I'm a coffee addict here. I've got to stop before I go bankrupt and never sleep.

My campaign strategies class is going well so far. Koral Luck, the Green Party candidate for Surfers Paradise, did a meet & greet on Friday and will be going out in Surfers to meet the community tomorrow morning! :) But seriously, It's hard being a candidate! Fake campaign or not! SOoOOOoOo much work & planning go into these things. Hopefully we'll have a successful campaign. I'm starting to get back into the school-time stress-out. Oh school-time stress-out, how I've missed you these past 2 years.. lol

I should really go for a run. I feel like a contestant on the Biggest Loser.. only I'm not losing anything. I really wish my room mate and I weren't such good cookers.. lol

I always talk, but never ask if there's anything you want me to post on this blog? Send me an email and I'll do my best. Hahaha! I sound like a celebrity.. wishful thinking!

In conclusion, my hair is long, my skin is brown and I'm going to go run on the beach. Please don't hate me. :)

xox

Friday, March 26, 2010

Worst.Tenants.Ever.

Yes, I said it! Last night was no exception. A few more glasses broke thanks to Vladimir/Jess/Geoff, etc. How does this happen? Apparently we need to stop having people over. At least no one complained about the noise.. there's always a bonus!

Today is gorgeous out. I MIGHT go surfing today. We'll see. I'm going on a boat cruise tomorrow and there's going to be beach volleyball, parasailing, tubing, etc. It was only $40 and they take you out to an island where there's a free bbq and some drinks. I'm really excited about this!!! I don't really DO beach volleyball.. I'll be the towel & beer girl for my friends teams.. lol

I just don't want to overdue it today with surfing and then be too sore to function tomorrow.

We currently have NO food in our house. Time to grocery shop. We also don't have any toilet paper. This makes me laugh out loud.. how bad is it that there's a roll of paper towel sitting in my bathroom right now? Hahaha! OMG!

The last couple days I've got together with the girls in my Campaign Strategies course to get work done for our campaign. I went to one girls house in Southport. Australians are so cute. I could sit and listen to them talk all day! The girls also have cars so I've been driven around this town so much! Still hard to process that I'm sitting on the side where I should be driving. It's cool though. I'm looking forward to renting a car and trying driving out for myself!

Next week will be a short week. I can't believe it's Easter already. Seriously, the time is flying by. Easter Sunday we're going over to Alysha & Larry's to have dinner. It'll be potluck style. I really want to make a cheesecake.. maybe I'll get the ingredients for that today. It won't be as good as my Nanny's cheesecake, but I'll put in a good effort! I really wish I could be home for each family holiday.

Yesterday at Happy Hour (yes I actually made it this week!) I met a Canadian guy who also travelled Brazil! It was so cool to talk about Ipanema and Corcovado and all things Rio with him! To top it off, we were both wearing Brazilian haviananas! Hello soul mates! LOL It was cool though. It seems like I'm meeting so many new people. It's thoroughly exciting!

I think our road trip to Sydney is still on. We've got to sit down and plan it out though. Apparently my room mate and I are last-minute decision makers.. haha!

Alright, I think it's time to waker her up.. I need groceries!!! xox

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Sweet Home Alabam.. Surfers Paradise?

I haven't really shown everyone my home here. Not that you should really get to see it unless you come visit.. lol I'm kidding!


Bed. We both have big beds. A lot of rooms here come with one big bed and 2 twin beds. We really lucked out. I wish I had my bedspread from back home because there is so much red & pink in my current room that having the bedspread from home would bring it all together.


Living area & dining table! We have 2 loveseats. I love them! Like our fake flowers & Canadian flag? Yes, awesome.


Kitchen. Notice no dirty dishes. We're clean girls.. for the most part. All cupboards are full of food & dishes/glasses, etc. Please notice our growing spice rack to the left of the fridge. We broke our George Foreman grill a few weeks back.. We're going to just superglue it before we leave the country.. hahahaha!


Balcony. We mopped it the other day. It was so sandy/dirty. Yeuck. I usually write my blog out here.


View of the Q1 to the right of our balcony. There's an amazing bar/restaurant at the top that I'd REALLY like to go to. REALLY.. :)


Our flat screen and couches. Note our ballin' printer on the coffee table. My couch is to the right. Yes, we have our designated couches. Eff. I love our t.v. .. I hate our welfare dvd player that only works when it wants to.


Yep. This is what I wake up to. You're more than welcome to come join me. :) xox

Monday, March 22, 2010

Seriously..

We had home made chicken quesidillas tonight.. no I can't spell! I took pictures. I'll add another "Australian Food" post soon!

Okay, time for some ridiculous photos of me! I know you've been waiting forever.. and here they are!


Yes this is me before going out. My room is to the left. What am I doing? Being gangster of course. Peace signs, sideway hats and housecoats just SPELL gangster.. lol


I'm extremely enthusiastic when having a night on the town. Whatever, I look good at least. HAHA.. I cannot believe I'm posting this picture. BIA - See? I'm eating!!! LOL Like my new shoes? Yeah, I lost part of the heel off them already. Apparently good quality shoes are hard to find. Yes I am the epitome of class in a H&M dress, cowboy hat and tongue sticking out. This is Melbas.


Who doesn't supply green beer on St. Patrick's Day? Answer: Every bar in Surfers. Alysha and I took it upon ourselves to buy green food colouring in case of this. It leaked. I did NOT do this purposely.. however, I had green food colouring, therefore I was the coolest person at the bar. My outfit helped with my popularity. hahahah!

I think 3 is good for now? I don't want to share too many horrid pictures! lol Today was so humid.. no breeze from the ocean!

I might buy a plant. I need something to take care of. I can't get a fish because if it survives until November when I leave, I'll be heartbroken to leave it behind. I miss Simba so much. MOM - Can you please FedEx my cat? Thanks. Anyway, I would just want something small and pretty. My room is starting to feel like MY room now.. it's nice!

The fire alarm went off in our building this morning at like 9 a.m. .. Nobody does anything! Jess and I came out of our rooms.. looked at each other and went back to bed LOL Seriously though! No one here responds to fire alarms. It's scary. Well, this is the oldest building in Surfers.. don't think it'll burn down now! (I Hope)

I need to start baking. I was listening to Jack Johnson's "Banana Pancakes" song and it really made me want to bake. Our place came with a muffin tin. Just thought I'd add that in there. Gosh I'm random at midnight! I think I'll cut myself off now.

xox

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Mmm, I don't expect to lose weight eating like this!

Tonight for dinner we had shake n' bake chicken breasts (homemade shake n' bake of course) and homemade sweet potato fries! Conniseur chefs over here! We went to Woolworth's a.k.a. Food Basics and bought a bunch of spices for tonight. Now it actually feels like we live here now that we have spices! LOL

I got my OSAP on Friday! Yippee! Too bad next semester's tuition will use up almost all my OSAP.. poop.. I've been job searching all weekend! I think I will go out again on Wednesday (my day off from school) and hand out resumes. I'm so mad that the Starbucks by my house isn't hiring. Are you kidding??? You don't need to TRAIN me!!! HELLO??? Oh well, hopefully one of the other coffee shops will call!

Cyclone Ului hit Northern Queensland early this morning. A lot of damage to Mackay and Cairns area. So far, no one has been hurt thank goodness!!! Our area was ready for it with beaches closing and businesses shutting down early yesterday. So glad it didn't come down here.

Have I told you about Melba's? Oh Melbas.. the bane of my existence! hahaha! It's a casino/bar/dance club honestly 2 minutes down the street. We go there often because it doesn't have a cover charge and you will ALWAYS see someone you know there. It's hilarious. Always a good time.. definitely have to stop going so much. The clubs and bars here usually don't close until 5 or 6 a.m. .. We got home at around 4:30 a.m !!!

Don't worry, I got my studying done today!

One of my classes, Campaign Strategies, is going to be so much work. We actually have to have a political campaign. There are 3 tutorials - within each tutorial is a party from each political standpoint (Liberal, Green, independent and I forget the other one..) My group is the Green Party for the electorate of Surfers Paradise. Guess who is the candidate for my party.. oh yeah, this girl. The girls in my group didn't want to be the candidate so I took the chance. We made an awesome profile for me. Hopefully this project will be more fun rather than stressful. I'll keep you updated.

I wear my housecoat here like I'm Hugh Hefner. Seriously Mom, thank you for packing it for me. I live in this thing.

I really need to get into some sort of fitness regemin. I walk everywhere and take the stairs everyday to my floor (that's 12 flights of stairs THANK YOU) but.. I need to walk somewhere. Or run. Ugh.. so lazy.. I want chocolate.. hahaha!

Omg, can you believe I'm starting week 4??? SERIOUSLY. It's going by fast. YIKES! I can't wait for Easter. Jess & I are going to cook the best meal for real. So excited. We're having a hunt for each other too.. We're cool. lol

Okay, I think we're going to watch Pirates of the Caribbean now. MMM, nothing like a dose of Johnny Depp after a relaxing weekend. Haha! P.S. The Biggest Loser Australia was SO good tonight! They'd better vote Rick off that idiot!!!

xox

Thursday, March 18, 2010

Week Three - Come See Me!

HEYRO? There's a cyclone headed for Brisbane. I know. First the tsunami warning and now this. I've been here a month and already experienced some of nature's worst. Thank goodness they haven't caused serious damage in Australia.

Easter is coming up. I really wish I could be with my family. This isn't the first Easter I've been away for. In Brazil, I had Tatiana & Emanuel's family. Here, it's just a bunch of kids.. which is awesome.. but, I miss my Mom & Nanny. I need a motherly presence! I think a bunch of us will be doing a pot-luck type dinner.. mmm! Maybe I'll do devilled eggs or a cheesecake! Also, I think we'll go to Kmart and get some chocolates too! EVERYTHING is cheaper at Kmart. It's a 10 minute bus drive, but so worth it!

I want Easter cheese! Why can't there be Mennonites in Australia? More specifically, Surfers Paradise??? lol

I received another allergy shot today. I've been getting them every week. This one really puffed up! It's good though, this way I come home and don't have to start my treatments all over again. This nurse isn't as good as the one at home.. she hurts me! haha!

I feel like sometimes I repeat myself on things I talk about in my blog.. I haven't checked.. but, if I do, I'm sorry!!!

Jess & I are deciding on what to do on our mid-semester break. Can you believe it's only 2 weeks away? Holy moly! I really wish I had a job though. As much as I want to see everything this country has to offer, I'm still a student. I need to pay for everything! We'll see how it goes. If I do go anywhere, it will most likely be somewhere closer like Brisbane, Byron Bay or even Sydney if we find a good deal!

Oh boy, So You Think You Can Dance Australia is on! LOVE this show! They announce the top 10 tonight! Whoohoo!! I'll write more later!! xox

Happy St. Patrick's Day from down under!


I had a great Paddy's Day! Shopping with Alysha, dressing up, green beer, Guiness, Irish dancing, good laughs and just a great day!


Cheers! xox

P.S. While out at the Irish pubs, I'm pretty sure I yelled "IT'S THE GINGER KIDS' TIME TO SHINE" numerous times. I love St. Patrick's Day!

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Australian Food!

Just a "taste" (see what I did there) of some of the food I've had here!


This was one of our first meals out. Hungry Jacks is like Burger King back home. It's so good and super cheap. This is a chicken burger with pineapple on it. Most burgers here come with pineapple and beetroot on them. It's really good. Redbull in a bottle = looks way cooler than a can!




Pancakes in Paradise. Overpriced and nothing spectacular. Their milkshakes, however, are unreal. I want one now!


SUSHI TRAIN. Seriously. Sushi goes around on this belt thing and you have to grab a plate of whatever you want. The plates are colour coded according to price. Too much fun at that place!


Burger Underground. These burgers are HUGE.. Sorry Alysha.. lol So delicious though. Most burgers/buns/toppings are home made here and are made fresh to order. If you come visit me, Burger Underground is a must visit.


Ugh. Fruit. The fruit here is amazing. Kiwis, mangos and oranges especially. Jess & I decided to have a fruit dinner and it was amazing!!! Unfortunately, strawberries and blueberries cost as much as rent, so we'll have to find a farm somewhere or just grow our own strawberries on the balcony.

Please don't even ask if I've tried kangaroo. I was going to try it until I fed the cuties at the Wildlife Sanctuary and now I couldn't bring myself to do it. They're too cute!

I'll post more food pictures as I eat more! hahaha! :) xox

Thursday, March 11, 2010

We Have 2 Bright Blue Loveseats

Seriously. Jess & I are lounging on our loveseats with our laptops. I sound like Dr. Seusse!

Yesterday was good! It was my day off so I did a lot of reading for today's classes and of course, took a break to go to the beach. It was nice just to relax by myself.

I watched people on the beach and who were taking surf lessons. It was fun to watch the surfers because as part of your package, you get a photographer to take pictures of you surfing for the first time. He gets right in the water and as soon as you stand on your board, he takes a picture. I've seen some, and they turn out great. Can't wait to try surfing for myself.


You must swim between the flags! Here are some of the signs and flags posted throughout the beach.

In case you're wondering, we have seen so many women tanning with no tops on at the beach. I don't know if it's legal, but, it's everywhere! I hope those girls put sunscreen on their nipples! Hahaha!


School is going well. It's starting to pick up. I have quite a bit of reading and some assignments due for next week. I'm looking hard for Office for Mac, which has Word, Excel and Powerpoint. I'm hoping someone will find me a free copy instead of me paying $200. Poop!

I've met an nice Australian at school! His name is Michael and he lives just outside Brisbane. He's a first year and we met at orientation. He's also taking Bachelor of Communications. We have arranged to have a coffee date every Tuesday! It's a hilarious hour we spend making fun of Australian customs, slang, etc. It's really nice!!!

We saw Alice in Wonderland in 3D on Tuesday. I LOVED it. I've heard a lot of people didn't like it, whatever. Johnny Depp is fan-tas-tic! I had caramel corn and it tasted like Heaven. Johnny Depp + Caramel Corn = 1 Happy Michelle!!!.. :D

Tomorrow night is The White Party at the Uni Bar. How racist does that sound? Basically, you dress up in white and party! Jess & I are part of the Student Guild (Students Association) and with that we get free tickets to all university events/parties. This will be the second one of the year and I'm excited. Always nice to party on a Friday! There's a bonus, later in the night, a charter bus comes to the university and takes students to Surfers Paradise for free! Whoohoo to free rides! Haha! I will post pictures of the White Party sometime this weekend.


Well this was a random blog! I miss my Mom! :( So jealous she's still in El Salvador enjoying the sun. It's raining here. Thanks for packing a poncho for me Mom. Hahaha!

xox

Monday, March 8, 2010

Send Money!

I'm so poor.

It's crazy how much this whole experience costs! From paying rent weekly to buying school supplies & textbooks, I'm going to have to Irish dance on the streets to survive! Hahaha. No, I'm very lucky to have a family who will help me with whatever I need. I would just like to get a part-time job!

Today was beautiful. Sunny & HOT! Right now it's 27 degrees and it's cooler than earlier! Of course the beautiful days occur when I'm in school all day. Poop!



I took a screen shot of my neighbourhood! You can click on it to see a bigger view. Okay, see Hanlan Street? To the left of that there is a building that says "Surfers Paradise First National".. to the left is my building! If you look really close you can see the numbers "32-34" .. well, I'm #34! Yay! You can see that I'm one street over from Cavill Ave (the main street in Surfers Paradise) and about a minute walk to the beach!

Okay, by request, I've made a list on my blog of all the funny Australian names for things I've heard! ( i.e. mushies = mushrooms ) I'll update the list, which should be on the right hand side margin, as often as I can!

I'm enjoying school so far. Everyone is still a bit timid in class and it's hard to talk to people. I think by week 4 (I'm currently in week 2) everyone will be comfortable enough to speak up in class and have conversations. I like my classes though. My cultural ones make you think so differently and challenge yourself. I like it, but it's a lot of work. My Public Relations classes are good as well.. they include a lot of group work which is good and bad. We'll see how it goes!

For my classes I have to start reading Australian news. It makes me feel like an Australian when I read this stuff. The main newspaper in Australia is.. get ready for it.. The Australian! I read it online! I also have to learn about Australian government. It's great to get to know all these things because if I wasn't told to study them, I'm almost positive I wouldn't have looked into them voluntarily.

Jess & I bought a printer today! We split the cost so it only cost $35 for a printer, cartridge and paper! Not bad considering the university charges you $.10 per page. It's just more convenient for us to have one at home and not have to take the bus to school to print something.

Australia has many t.v. shows similar to Canadian/American shows. There's So You Think You Can Dance Australia, Deal or No Deal Australia and Who Wants to be a Millionaire! There are some shows we're used to like Two and a Half Men, How I Met Your Mother and there's always a good movie on. It's good when you want to watch something familiar. I think tonight a few of us might go to cheap movie night to see Alice In Wonderland!



Alright, here's a fun picture. Every Friday at the Surf Club (a bar/restaurant at the end of Hanlan) has "Happy Hour" from 4-6 p.m. where beer is only $2.50. Sadly, I have a lecture at that time now.. but, here's a picture from before school started. Me, Natalia, Vladimir & Alysha.

I'll leave it at that for now! xox

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Out on the balcony just blogging..

Well how is everyone? I'm good! Just got off the phone with my Dad! If you see him today, wish him a Happy Birthday!

Yesterday was great. Alysha, Larry, Jess, Vlad and 2 of Alysha's friends from college back home went to Coolangatta, a suburb/beach where the 2010 Roxy/Quicksilver Surfing competition was. It started on the 26th and was supposed to run until March 10th, but, the last day of it ended up being yesterday so we still got to see everything! The girls & I for some reason didn't really pack beach towels to come down to Australia so, we all bought the same towel! Hahaha! Here's a picture!


We're cool. We know it. It's okay. Haha! It just says Roxy Surf Pro - Gold Coast, Australia 2010. It's perfect & good quality!

The beach there was sooo gorgeous. Crystal clear water, shells, big waves.. ugh, I loved it! A lot of rocks and vegetation there too, which only added to how beautiful it was. Sadly, it was an overcast day. But, it didn't rain and we didn't get burnt, so that's a bonus! Vlad took some great photos, I'll try to get them from him so I can post them on here!


It was great to actually see some real surfing as well. Surprisingly, there isn't a ton of surfing in Surfers Paradise. I think it's just so touristy that most people swim rather than surf. I will be taking surf lessons soon and will let you all know how that goes!

Hey Nanny, here's the picture of me holding a koala bear at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary:


This picture isn't the professional one that we paid for, but you were able to take pictures with your own camera as well which was nice.

Well today (Sunday) I'll be doing my reading for the week (sooo much to read) and probably vacuuming as our place is as sandy as the beach! Just a relaxing day. Probably go for coffee with Alysha later which will be a nice ending to the weekend.

Oh! Sun is coming out! Got to go get my sunglasses! More later! xox

Happy Birthday Dad!



Have an amazing day today & enjoy the rest of March! Hahaha!
I miss & love you! xox

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Week One almost done?

Wow. I have been in Australia for almost one month now and my first week of university is almost over. This is surreal!

Today's classes were great. I really dislike my lectures, but love my tutorials/workshops. I think I like them more because it's more interactive and less "I'm going to stand in front of all of you and talk for 2 hours non-stop". I'll be attending all my classes obviously, but I prefer to have smaller, more one-on-one classes.

Do I dare say I'm excited to start this semester? Believe me, there's a ton of work (essays, quizzes, media releases.. but, it all interests me thus far.

I sound like a lecturer.. "thus far".. who SAYS that? ..lame

Our lift .. or "elevator" to you North Americans lol.. is broken. I have to walk up like, 12 flights of stairs for the next week. My thighs will be rock hard. Good. Beach body here I come. Oh, and you really do pass on the left here. I remember my first week in Australia, Jess would yell "left" at me when we were about to pass someone oncoming.. ahaha! I'm better now!

It's starting to feel like my home now. It's so strange to type that. I miss my family, friends, pets and all the familiarities in Canada, but I like it here. The relationships I so desperately needed when I first got here are starting to develop. When I first arrived, all I wanted was my Mom or Jessica Ward to be with me and let me cry on their shoulder. Now, I've got some wicked friends who all live in Surfers and are all 5 minute or less walking distance from my apartment.



Here she is! I miss this girl so much. I love you Jessica Biatrice Ward!

I totally have to keep my windows closed in my bedroom now. Since we're so close to the ocean, when I kept my windows open, salt and sand got everywhere! I would come home and my sheets were so gross (no, it wasn't from me.. I shower every night.. thankyouverymuch hahaha!) that I'd have to wash them. If you go for a short walk along the beach and then lick your lips, they'll be soooo salty. But, we keep our living room and bathroom windows open .. and of course our balcony is always open! Love the ocean breeze!



My Mom & Dad are going to El Salvador on Monday! SERIOUSLY! Those two are going to have all of Central America done! I'm so excited for them. I told Mom to rent a boat and just come on down to Australia for a visit. She laughed. I was serious. ;)

My university has a hair salon, travel agency, post office, computer store, bookstore and so many other shops. I love it. Student discounts are amazing! I'm thinking about getting my hair done at the university once I get a job. I've also used the post office there, and Just F.Y.I. it's only $1.70 to send me a letter.. haha!

Well this was a long one! I'll include more pictures in my next super-long post so it's interesting! xox

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Home Sweet Home!



This is my building! I'm on the 5th floor with our balcony facing the ocean. The name is Kinkabool. All buildings here have names. Example: We have friends who live in Genesis and the Artique!

Rent here is paid weekly and electricity is paid separately. Thankfully, we have a great landlord who let's us pay bi-weekly and electricity is included in our rent. Bonus! We also have a washer and a dishwasher in here. It's so nice not to have to go to a laundromat.

This is me on my balcony! Celebrating our new home with some wine! See the ocean in the background? lol Speaking of wine, cheddar cheese here is white.. no orange cheese in Oz!



I will have to post pictures of the inside of our place too! We love it. Currently I'm in the living room on one of our couches watching some Aussie t.v. while blogging!



This is my phone screen.. it has GPS and shows you where I'm living. So amazing.

More later. xox

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Monday, March 1, 2010

..a college girl's first day of university!

As per the title of today's post, Today was my first day of university! I feel like I'm 18, typing that. Haha!

It was good. Very overwhelming. Not much time to ease into anything.. they're right to the point here! This class, Journalism Cultures, really asks you to think critically and be passionate. It's just so different from what I've studied before. I'm nervous, excited, stressed, intrigued.. it's all a big jumble in my head. Once this first week is over and I KNOW what to expect I should be better.

I'm really sorry this is a post of my thought process more than anything! I'll move on!

I'M SO PROUD TO BE CANADIAN!

You know you're Canadian when you get chills watching a hockey game and the Vancouver closing ceremonies. I really wish I was home to celebrate such an amazing Olympics. We did so great!!! 14 GOLD MEDALS! So proud. When all that Canada Olympic gear goes on sale, can someone get me a sweater? Thanks. :).. maybe a pair of those red mittens??

I've begun researching places I'd like to visit in Australia while I'm here. Cairns, Sydney, Fraser Island, the Barrier Reef, the Outback, etc. I just need to sort out when & with who!!!

I'm also waiting on a call back from a number of places I applied to for a part time job. I applied to a TON of coffee shops in Surfers Paradise (yes, even Starbucks) and hopefully will know sometime this week. I have to keep in mind the laid-back atmosphere here, though. :)

Yesterday, all of Eastern Australia (a.k.a. Me..) was on tsunami watch from the earthquake in Chile. All of the beaches were closed. It was kind of scary! We still have crappy weather here today.

Let's put some faces to the names:



Alysha (my coffee date dancing partner), Jessica (my roomie love) and myself!

Love these girls. More later. xox