Monday, May 31, 2010

MONDAY NIGHT RANT

I HATE JOURNALISM CULTURES. I HATE IT.

Let me just get this off my chest minus cursing.. I'll save that for my roomie. Here's a real insight into a uni students thoughts:

WHY IS A FINAL ESSAY WORTH 65%??!! IS THAT NOT THE STUPIDEST THING EVER. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL.

STUPID STUPID STUPID ..
Hmm, might be smart not to go any further in case certain Australians can read this. Yikes.

I will finish this rant on a one-to-one basis. Please book an appointment via email. Thank You.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

I want a pet peacock.

Some funny Photobooth pictures from this weekend!



Oh baby, it's cold outside!

What a weekend!

First off, I have 2 more assignments left in this semester! I handed in my essay for campaign strategies a day early AND I was over the word count. Super glad to have that done! This Friday my journalism cultures essay is due and I'm really worried.. my professor honestly scares me.

This is why I don't really talk about school work on my blog. It just worries me. Yucky.

This weekend was quite eventful!!! Shall I share? Yes, of course I will!

Friday was a girls night with Alysha, Jess and I having a night out in Surfers. We dressed up and went to Waxy's and Melbas. We had a good time just dancing. Then afterwards, I went to Genesis to visit with Rory and watch Family Guy. Speaking of Family Guy.. our landlord was in town and exchanged our already fantastic t.v. to a 42" plasma t.v.!!!! This thing is massive! I can't believe how nice the picture is. Pretty sure we have the best t.v. out of all our friends!

Then on Saturday at 1 p.m. I had my first shift at Muffin Break. It wasn't that bad! I learned so much. I'm a barista and I work the front. No baking for me and there are no bathrooms for me to clean. I also get paid about $19 an hour!!! My next shift is on Wednesday and then on the weekend. It's working out really well. Plus, when you close (like I did on my first shift) you can take home all the food you want. I brought home 12 muffins. They're so good and regularly $3.80 each! hahaha! I win.

Saturday just consisted of work and then Jess had her friend Danny and his friend John come down for the night to party in Surfers. We ordered pizza, played drinking games and had another night out on the town. I was tired, but I laughed a lot.

Today was a lazy day. I napped and cleaned up. My goodness this t.v. is unreal.

I think Jess' boyfriend comes this week. She doesn't really talk about it. I hope things don't change. If you're reading this Weaver, I looooove you! You can ALWAYS crawl into my bed to talk! <3

Robert comes in less than a month. Good Grief I'm excited!!!

I think that's all my news for now. It feels like I'm an official Australian now. I go to school, I have a job and I use their slang! xo

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Virgo = Crazy

Well, it's how I'm feeling lately.

I went to the beach front market again tonight and got another cupcake (bad, I know!) It was delicious. It was tropical with coconut, tropical fruit and one of those drink umbrellas on top. Gosh, this cupcake lady is unreal! I might start a business of making crazy cupcakes and sell them outside my building.. hahaha!

My first shift at my job is this Saturday. I'm excited. I hate customer service, but frankly.. I need this money! Our landlord is coming on Saturday to put a new 42 inch plasma t.v. in our living room. Sweet eh? His other place he rents out wouldn't fit it, so he asked if we wanted it. I've never met him.. and I probably won't because I'm working. Hahahaha! We'd better bring out the superglue and fix this place up!!!

Robert and I skyped today and talked about what we want to do when he comes down. We're going to do an Outback excursion. I think it's going to be sweet. Everything will be included so we won't have to buy anything other than souvenirs. It's going to be siiiiick!!!

I want to go to Seaworld. I want to pet some dolphins.

I also want to come home for a while. This weather stinks!! I want to swim in my pool and sit on a patio back home! As soon as I get home, I know I'm going to want to go somewhere else.. I know. But, right now.. I'm missing home!!!

I've got 800 words on the essay due Friday. I'm excited. I'm almost done!!!
Okay, how about all of you just come here and visit?

This State of Origin game was on tonight. Queensland won. I don't even know what the rules are.. but QUEENSLAND REPRESENT!!!!
xox

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

ROADTRIP!



What can I say? I want to come home for the break! Hahaha! Bedtime now. Jess & I are up early for a run.. ugh, wish me luck! xo

Sunday, May 23, 2010

I'm in a glass case of emotion!

Okay, so I calmed down enough from getting the news of my job that I'm able to write more about my weekend!

I'll start from Friday with the Ellen Beach Dance!

SEA FM - a radio station on the Gold Coast created this event to get Ellen's attention and to try and bring her down here to host her show. She's acknowledged their efforts on her show! Crazy! Anyway, we got there at 7 a.m. dressed in blue (Ellen's favourite colour) .. received huge cutouts of her head.. learned a dance choreographed by one of the choreographers from So You Think You Can Dance Australia.. danced on National t.v. and for helicopters filming from above! I had a blast even though it rained for a bit!

Here's a link you can copy & paste to watch a video of the dance. I'm in the middle somewhere. Hahaha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5MfxFCgxcNk&feature=related




It was good fun indeed!!!

Saturday was fun as well. I had my interview with the owner Marie around noon. After that, Vlad, Jimmy, Jess and I headed to Brisbane for no real reason other than we could.. hahaha. Vlad had a car for the weekend. Good times.


Jess & I partying in the back seat.

Saturday night there was a house party on Chevron Island. Kegs, DJS, dance parties and Jungle Juice.

JUNGLE JUICE INSTRUCTIONS:
Take a big plastic storage container. Fill it with heaps of orange juice, a bottle of Sambuca, some RedBull, Absolute 101. Cut up fruit slices. Soak fruit in Absinthe for 1.5 days. Add to container. Serve.



Serious.

That was basically my weekend. Robert got his ticket to come down on the 20th of June. I'm so excited. But, must get these final assignments done first.. Yeee!!! xo

THANK YOU MUFFIN BREAK!

I got a job!

I'm a barista at Muffin Break! It's located in the mall right next to my building! This couldn't be more perfect! I start Saturday morning! I don't think I can write a sentence without an exclamation mark! Here's a screenshot of their website!


I'm so happy!!! :)

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Friday Facts

1. I danced on the beach this morning at 7 a.m. holding a cut-out of Ellen's face with 1500 other people.
2. Big, golf umbrellas are the best.
3. This years travel destinations have increased to the following: Indonesia, Fiji, New Zealand and Thailand.
4. Australians don't have hotdog buns. They wrap the weinies in pieces of bread.
5. Happy Long-Weekend to everyone back home. Hope the weather is gorgeous. xo

Jupiters

Not the planet, the casino located in Broadbeach! (The next beach South of Surfers)

Jess & I went to the free comedy night there tonight.. it was really good! We each got a fancy slush drink and watched Australian comedy. Hahaha. I will definitely be going back there next week!!! The casino is gorgeous and we are going to become members so we get free stuff.. oh, being a uni student!!!


Mmmm, Midori!

Yesterday I handed in my final assignment for Media Relations. I am now done that class. It's so weird.. it's like it's winding down. I'm going to be so bummed when the people who are done after this semester leave for home :(

Tomorrow I am waking up at 6:30 a.m. to go dance on the beach. Yes, I'm serious. I'm going to be on the Ellen show! A local radio station organized this dance and it will be broadcasted up to Ellen to see! We registered early, so we get a free brekky and I'm sure it'll be hilarious. We'll be dancing just down the street at our section of the beach!!! Weee!!

Check it out here:
http://brekkyblog.com.au/Home/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=155:bring-ellen-to-the-gold-coast&catid=25:win&Itemid=62

Then, this Saturday, there is a major house party at a place on Chevron Island. I'm so stoked. Should be a good weekend!!!

Jess is currently cooking Springrolls.. who is this girl? hahaha! I'll write more soon and post some pictures! xo

Sunday, May 16, 2010

Hair Colour & MasterChef Australia

OH HURRO THERE! Happy Sunday to those who are reading this in Canada!

I can't tell you how much happier I am now that I'm done Campaign Strategies. I feel like a new person. Seriously, I know that my course is done 10 weeks into the semester, but it feels like I did the work of 2 courses. I'm so happy as to how well I did. We did not win the election - my alliance partner Bruce Banner did! It was all good. Now I just need to write a 2,000 word summary and reflection for the course. Omg, I feel like a new person. I feel motivated!!!

I coloured my hair tonight to signify the end of Koral Luck! It's back to what it was before I left - dark brown/red. It's really nice. I couldn't really do it prior to now because I was always having pictures taken of me as Koral. I wanted to keep it consistent. Anyway, I might go get it cut tomorrow at Hair@Uni before class. Hey, it was only $7 for the box of colour (GARNIER!) and it'll be about $10-15 for a cut. Sweet deal for the poor student!!!

Last night when I got home from school (on Saturday).. I went to sleep at 7 p.m. and didn't wake up until 10 a.m. on Sunday.. ahahah! Today I decided to be productive and went to Australia Fair in Southport with Jess. She got a job through a recruitment agency and had to buy a uniform, so I went along to hand out resumes and look at stuff. I printed off some pictures and bought my hair colour. I'm seriously going to apply to Kmart. Could you imagine the discount? Holy moly!

I'm addicted to reality t.v. in Australia. I'm trying to concentrate on my blog.. but it's so hard when they have the inventive challenge on Masterchef Australia.. Wee!!!

This week will be great. I only have 4 things left to do this semester. I'm so pumped!
Journalism Cultures - Essay - 65%
Producing Culture - Reflective Essay - 40%
Media Relations - Media Kit - 40%
Campaign Strategies - Summary Essay - 20%

It may look like a lot to you, but I'll be done my media kit this week, and I'm almost done my summary essay. Seriously, so excited. GAH!!!

Then, ROBERT IS COMING DOWN!!! YEEEE!!! I've got quite a bit planned for us. A lot of stuff in and around Surfers, but, if possible I want to make the trek to the outback. I don't really want to go with anyone else other than Robert. We'll see how our funds work out.

Hmm, I don't think I have anything else exciting to report. So we'll call it a night. xox

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Mr. Rogers Neighbourhood

I lied. It's my neighbourhood. Ha! I'd just like to point out one of my favourite things about uni in Australia is being able to lie outside on the grass and write your blog. Everyone is out on the grass. I love it.

Okay here is another look at my building. I'm the fifth balcony in this picture! Hooray for Kinkabool!


Here is a picture of my building from the beach. No zoom on this, I'm basically standing in sand.


This is our entrance to the beach from the end of our street. Sorry it's a bit dark, it was about 4:30 p.m.


I WISH I lived on this street. No explanation necessary.


Surfers Paradise Boulevard. My street is up to the left.


5 minute walk from my house. Oh yes!!!




.. add more later.. gotta catch the bus!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Mother's Day Post

I know it was Sunday, but I want to say Happy Mother's Day to my absolutely beautiful Mom who is my best friend. I miss you so much thank you for all your support and love. You are a true super woman. I will always be grateful for all you do.


Also, to my Nanny & Auntie Ann. You are both amazing ladies. I love our visits and talks, they mean the world to me. I love you both more than you know.



Thank you to each of you for all your support, love and encouragement. Each of you helped shape who I am today! I am blessed to have you in my life. I love you.

Love always, Shelley.

Simpsons & Chai Lattes

The title pretty much sums up my evening. The Simpsons seem to be on t.v. all the time. I also bought Chai Latte mix today at Woolworth's. Much cheaper than buying one at Starbucks!!!

Juno is on tonight. I love that movie so much. Such great one-liners. Our t.v. provider actually shows some great movies. I'm thrilled about tonight.



I haven't written much because not much is new! Group meetings at night, class during the day, job searching always. I always look forward to Tuesday nights because Jess & I watch Grey's and then Private Practise is on right after. I love Addison. She's my hero.

I coloured the under-bit of Alysha's hair on Monday. The 3 of us watched Knocked Up (another movie on t.v.!) and I played hairdresser. It looks really good. She has black underneath (what I did) and blonde highlights on top. Sadly, I somehow got colour on my couch. Great. I bought some stain remover stuff today to see if I could get some of it out. Hahaha. Oh boy, our poor landlord.

I ran out of internet on Monday and had to recharge! Internet is so expensive. $150 for 12GB. Ugh. I hope you all appreciate unlimited internet back home.. I sure do!!!

Well, Saturday I'm done with Koral Luck and I cannot wait to celebrate that night!

I'm going to take my camera out with me more (now that it's working) and take some pictures of my neighbourhood. I see it everyday, but haven't showed you all! I will get on that! :) xox

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Saturday Night Stories

It isn't a good idea to nap from 6-11 p.m. .. you're just going to be up all night. Case in point: Me.

Well, today was the 1st of my 2 Saturdays for my political campaign class! We did REALLY well! Such a long day though. Listening to 15 candidates' 6 minute launch speeches and THEN 15 teams' advertising pitches. Omg. I got up at 6 a.m., had brekky with Alysha at Zarraffa's (really big coffee shop franchise in Australia and New Zealand.. it's so good!) and then got to school around 8 a.m.

We didn't get out until 4:30 p.m. Man, I was just buggered! Anyway, I did my launch speech and afterwards almost all the other candidates came up to me and said how well- written and spoken my speech was! I was so happy! So nice of them to tell me that! 80% on the speech, which is fantastic considering the marks I heard other teams received.

Then in the afternoon we had our ad pitch. Not as well done as the speech as we had some technical difficulties. Oh well! So hapy we did so well! To celebrate, I went home, ate and took a nap. I'm a CRAZY party girl! hahaha! Whatever, having a Saturday night all to myself is nice. Jess is in Brisbane partying with some people from Canada she went to school with. I'm all alone in Kinkabool! .. I seriously love the name of my building so much, it's hilarious!

What else is new! OMFG.. Now that I have Fridays off, I went to ladies night on Thursday with Jess, Kara, Francis and her 2 roommates Stacey and Katrina. Thursday here are also late-night shopping days as all the shops are open until 9 p.m. rather than the regular 5:30 p.m. .. weird, I know! So we all went to this bar called the Bedroom. When you get there, you don't pay cover and all the ladies get a wristband. With that wristband you get free drinks all night. No, you're not reading that wrong.. free.drinks.all.night.. HELLO!

Needless to say, we went to town. I'll get pictures up later. I won't post the ones of the topless male models covered in edible chocolate or the male strippers. I felt like I was at a bachelorette party for crying out loud! Great night with the girls.

I need to go on another roadtrip/daytrip soon! I just feel like I haven't done anything like that lately. It's hard when you've got school and you have to plan it with other people. I'm going to plan my trip to Brisbane with my coffee date boyfriend, Michael, soon. I miss him. I read on facebook he got a Macbook Pro.. YES, Mac's are taking over!!!

I bought headphones from Kmart. I like them. My bedside lamp broke. I hate that. I forgot to pay rent today. I'll do it Monday.

I feel like Oprah. I can't stop eating. When I'm bored, hungry, happy, bored, tired, sad.. you know. I've got to stop. At least I'm eating good stuff, like Sultana Bran. Yes, Raisin Bran is called Sultana here.. UGH. I MISS CANADA AND MY UPBRINGINGS.. lol

Okay, that's all for now. xox

Monday, May 3, 2010

Happy Labour Day!

Yes, another long weekend. I love Australia!

This is how my week will work school-wise.
Class Tuesday & Thursday. HOLLLLERRRR!!!

No more class on Fridays and I already have Wednesdays off. Mind you, I'll be busy both days with Media Conference/Campaign Launch/Media Kit stuff.. almostdonealmostdonealmostdone!

Today we took it easy. We actually just hung out and then we got manicures.. haha! They were only $15 and they look awesome! There were a lot of Labour Day specials in the shops today.. speaking of shops and money..

HELLO TO ALL GOLD COAST COMPANIES READING MY BLOG (for some reason..lol)
I'M MICHELLE. I'M ORGANIZED, PUNCTUAL, AND HAVE GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS.
PLUS I MAKE A WICKED LATTE.
HIRE ME. THANKS.

OMG, remember the Producing Culture essay I had to write a week or so back? The one where our prof didn't give any guidelines or how to write it? The one where I cried and wanted to go home over? Yeah, that one. I got my mark back.. 80%!!! OMG! I was so happy! He said I did a good job and had one of the most well-written essays submitted.. he gave some constructive criticism too, which is appreciated for the final essay I have to write for that class.. but, OMG.. SO HAPPY!!! Let's hope my other classes will be just as impressed, if not more, with my other assignments! Weee!

Tomorrow my Journalism Cultures rough draft is due.. well, I guess it's not "due" you're not getting marked on submitting a rough draft.. but it'll be good to get feedback on this once since it's worth 65% of my final mark. 65%.. really? Are you kidding me? Who DOES that? Did this prof just get lazy and was like.. "Hmm.. I don't think I'll give out any other assignments and just make this essay a make it or break it for these kids.." .. well, thanks lady.. thanks

I have GOT to get my hair done soon. I've heard every single ginger kid joke in the book, it's getting old. I'm almost to the point of buying a box of colour and just going to town! I'll have to do it after I'm done with Koral Luck, though. Geez!

Okay, gotta get my essay on. I'm buying a camera soon, so I'll be posting more pictures of my neighbourhood, school, etc.
I love you all xox

Sunday, May 2, 2010

Weekends here are making me obese!

WELL HURRO! Here I am, Sunday night.. laying on my blue couch being a blob. Jealous? Don't be.

Okay so, my exam on Friday was insane. I studied so much, so I felt really good going into the exam. Man oh man, it was difficult! I think I did okay though, the short answer and scenario questions I went into a lot of detail. I should be good!

Before the exam I had to put on my political face and play Koral Luck again. Koral was at the school announcing her new partnership with Independent candidate for Surfers Paradise, Bruce Banner. Bruce's real name is Clinton and he's from Orange County, California. Really nice guy. Here a picture of Koral Luck and Bruce Banner! hahahah!



So after the exam I made the decision to go on the Canadian Students Association boat cruise. I'm really glad I did. I ran home after my exam, changed, did my hair (not very good mind you) and ran to Titanium bar whee everyone was meeting. It was a classy place and everyone looked great in black and white. We had a free drink there and I found Kara & Francis who I was with for most of the night.

From there we boarded the boat and received another free drink! These Australians love giving away alcohol! I must stop this. Need a weekend of detoxing. Anyway the boat was great, we went all around the harbour and had a great view of Surfers. It's beautiful here at night. There were a few levels on the boat, and when we went under a bridge we had to get down a level.. hahah everyone touched the bridges as we went under them!


I didn't have a camera so these pictures are stolen. What's with the guy with no shirt? ahaha.

After the boat, we partied all over Surfers. Really fun night!
Here's Francis, Kara, Myself and Meg on the boat. I love these ladies SooooO much!



Today was the start of a 2 month long festival in Surfers Paradise. There were fireworks and lots of bands playing on the beach! I'll have to get more info and see what upcoming events will happen.

We have to grocery shop tomorrow. I'm pretty sure I made a sandwich today consisting of crackers, cream cheese and gravy. Oh, which reminds me! Last night Jess and I made roast chicken with Swiss Chalet sauce! Jess brought the dry mix for it from home.. omg it was so good! We also had mashed potatoes with gravy, broccoli and asparagus! Such a good dinner!

Ugh, my feet stink. I have to wash my slippers. Goodnight Moon. xox