It has rained here for the past few days! It needs to stop!
When I wake up, it's beautiful and sunny and I think "oh, I could totally go to the beach today!" .. an hour later, it's pouring. Poop.
Thank goodness for Sunday afternoon movies on t.v. .. I wish something better than Godzilla was on. lol
I thought of a few more things I could share about Australia. I won't put them in point form again, I'll just chat about them.
Okay, so light switches here flip up to turn off and down to turn on. Toilets have the option of "half" and "full" flushes.. don't ask what happens with a full flush as I'm too scared to even try it out! The buses here are good, but, are usually late.. I think everything here is just so relaxed, no one is ever in a hurry! I'm sure most of you know they drive on the opposite side of the road to us. I'm still getting used to looking EVERY way before I cross the street.
I met my roommate, Jessica, at the Brisbane airport. We're pretty similar and get along good. She makes awesome fajitas.
Our apartment has everything we need. It came with pots & pans, dishes, silverware, cups, etc. We didn't need to buy anything but food! There are also extra towels and bedsheets we can use. It saves us a lot of money. Our t.v. has basic cable (which is all we need) and also has surround sound, a dvd player and a cd player. It's a hard life right now!
Food is expensive if you don't shop around. Jess & I usually get good deals on basic fruits and breads. It's cheaper to eat in here as well. Some places have great deals and give you so much food.. but, it's like 10 bucks for a wrap. It's the same with toiletries.. they ARE very expensive, but, many places have great deals. Sometimes you just have to buy the cheap brands!
Here's an example of expensive toiletries: any mascara here is not under 18 dollars.. sunscreen is about 16-18 dollars for 200ml.. aloe vera gel is about 10 bucks for the same amount you get from Avon for 2 dollars!! Like, I said.. you need to shop around!
Nobody here says "Can I help you?" .. they say "You alright?"
Nobody here says "You're welcome".. they say "No worries!"
Nobody here says "Hey you!/Hello!".. they say "Oi!"
Hahaha. Aussies are very nice and willing to help. I've only met one crabby bus driver.. all the rest are great.
I start school tomorrow and I'm pretty excited. My class is at one p.m. .. I'm still debating on watching the gold medal hockey game tomorrow.. but, I'll have to be up at 6 a.m. Australia time. We'll see! Go Canada Go!
More later! xox